Fisheries Resources
Pacific Region
 

Oregon Application
Washington Application
Idaho Application
Montana Application

What are some requirements to be considered for fish screening or passage project funding?

The proposal must provide for improved fish passage or fish protection at a water diversion in Idaho, Oregon, Washington, or western Montana.

  • The proposal must benefit fish species native to and present in the project area, including those listed on state or federal endangered species or other conservation lists.
  • The applicant(s) must provide at least 35 percent matching funds or in-kind contributions (matching funds or contributions must be from a non-federal source unless the project is on federal lands; in-kind contributions may include such things as easements, materials, equipment, or labor).
  • The applicant(s) must assume responsibility for project operation and maintenance.
  • At least one of the project applicants must be a local government (counties, cities, towns, regional governments, and local service districts including Soil and Water Conservation Districts, Irrigation Districts, and Port Districts).
  • The proposal must meet applicable state and federal requirements for project construction and operation.

Some special provisions apply for projects on federal lands and for projects involving tribal lands and governments.

For additional information on project eligibility see these questions and answers.

How can my project be considered?
For more information or if you have a project that could benefit from this program, please notify your State or Tribal FRIMA contact, or a US Fish and Wildlife Service contact:

State contacts:
Pete Baki
Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife, Salem, OR
(503) 947-6217
pete.baki@state.or.us

Julie Henning
Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife, Olympia, WA
(360) 902-2555
Julie.Henning@dfw.wa.gov

Eric Leitzinger
Idaho Dept. of Fish and Game
600 S Walnut, PO Box 25
Boise, ID 83707
Phone: 208-287-2798
Fax: 208-334-2114
eric.leitzinger@idfg.idaho.gov

Mark Lere
Montana Department of Fish, Wildlife and Parks, Helena, MT
(406) 444-2432
(406) 444-4952 (fax)
mlere@state.mt.us

US Fish and Wildlife Service contacts:
US Fish and Wildlife Service contact for Idaho:
Jody Brostrom
(208) 476-7242
jody_brostrom@fws.gov

US Fish and Wildlife Service contacts for Oregon:
Ron Rhew
(360) 604-2500
ron_rhew@fws.gov

US Fish and Wildlife Service contact for Western Washington:
Kevin Aitkin
360-753-9508
kevin_aitkin@fws.gov

US Fish and Wildlife Service contact for Eastern Washington:
Jim Craig
(509) 548-7573
jim_l_craig@fws.gov

US Fish and Wildlife Service Regional Coordinators:
Dan Shively (R1)
(503) 231-2270
dan_shively@fws.gov

Scott Roth (R6):
(303) 236-4219
Scott_Roth@fws.gov

Last updated: July 22, 2013
Pacific Region Fishery Resources
Pacific Region Home

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Home Page | Department of the Interior  | USA.gov  | About the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service  | Accessibility  | Privacy  | Notices  | Disclaimer  | FOIA