Migratory Bird Program
Conserving the Nature of America

CCMB Image

Council for the Conservation of Migratory Birds



2014 Presidential Migratory Bird Stewardship Award Winner Announced

Council for the Conservation of Migratory Birds Annual Reports

Council Report 2011

Text Box: Members of the Council for the Conservation of Migratory Birds   •	Department of Energy   •	Department of Homeland Security (Federal Emergency Management Agency and U.S. Coast Guard)  •	Department of Interior (National Park Service, Bureau of Land  Management, Bureau of Ocean Energy Management, Office of Surface Mining Reclamation and Enforcement, and the U.S. Geological Service)   •	Department of Commerce (NOAA Fisheries)  •	Department of Agriculture (U.S. Forest Service, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, and Natural Resource Conservation Service)  •	Department of Defense  •	Environmental Protection Agency   •	Federal Highway  Administration  •	Federal Energy Regulatory Commission   •	Federal Aviation Administration  •	Federal Communication Commission   •	U.S. Army Corps of Engineers  •	Department of State

The Council for the Conservation of Migratory Birds (Council) was established in 2009 by the Secretary of the Interior to oversee the implementation of the Executive Order 13186, Responsibilities of Federal Agencies to Protect Migratory Birds.  The Executive Order was a crucial first step in creating a more comprehensive strategy for the conservation of migratory birds by the Federal government, thereby fulfilling the government’s duty to lead in the protection of this international resource.  The Council serves to enhance coordination and communication among Federal agencies regarding their responsibilities under the four bilateral treaties on the conservation of migratory birds (Canada - 1916, Mexico - 1936, Japan - 1972, Russia - 1978) and also builds upon the progress that has been made in recent years on conservation of migratory birds. 

Participation in the Council is open to all Federal agencies whose activities may directly or indirectly affect migratory bird populations.  Federal Agencies are not required to have a completed Memorandum of Understanding with the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service to become a member of the Council.  The Director of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service serves as Chair of the Council. 

The Goals of the Council are to:

  • promote coordination and collaboration of migratory bird conservation amongst the Federal agencies whose actions may affect migratory bird populations. 
  • improve opportunities for Federal activities to more effectively protect and conserve migratory birds and recognize positive impacts Federal agencies are having on migratory bird populations. 
  • ensure that each representative agency to which  the Executive Order is applicable successfully implements its migratory bird conservation responsibilities, as described in their respective Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) developed with the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (Service) in accordance with the Executive Order.   

The Objectives of the Council are to:

  • foster partnerships between other Federal and State agencies, tribes, and non-governmental entities to further the goals of the Executive Order.
  • increase migratory bird conservation both nationally and internationally through the actions of Federal agencies.
  • share the latest resource information to assist in the conservation and management of migratory birds.
  • develop an annual report of accomplishments and recommendations related to the Executive Order and implementation of the Federal agency MOUs.
  • select an annual recipient of a Presidential Migratory Bird Federal Stewardship Award for contributions to the protection of migratory birds.

Existing Migratory Bird Program Partnership Agreements
(MOUs, MOAs, Interagency Agreements)

Executive Order to Protect Migratory Birds (PDF) and Q&A's. Memoranda of Understanding which have been finalized in accordance with the Executive Order
Department of Defense
Department of Energy
Department of Agriculture, Forest Service
Department of the Interior U.S. Minerals Management Service
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission
National Park Service
Bureau of Land Management
National Marine Fisheries Service
Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service




Last updated: May 13, 2014