Michigan Oil Spill Response
Midwest Region

  Michigan Oil Spill Daily Wildlife Reports

Back to Michigan Oil Spill Home

 

Total number of wildlife released to date: 2164

111 Canada Goose
13 Mallard
4 Wood Duck
2 Domestic geese
6 Mute Swan
1 Trumpeter Swan
1 Red-winged Blackbird
5 Great Blue Heron
1 Ring-billed gull
1 Rock Pigeon
10 Muskrat
5 Beaver
3 Meadow vole
3 Opossum
11 Snakes
1939 Turtles
46 Frogs and Toads
2 Mussels




 

 

 

 

Wildlife in care

Sunday October 24, 2010 Update (Cumulative)

Live in care: 447
446 Turtles
1 Frogs and Toads

Tuesday, September 28, 2010 Update (Cumulative)

Live in care: 259
3 Canada Geese
2 Mallard
2 Wood Ducks
4 Mute Swans
1 Ring-billed gull
2 Great Blue Herons
3 beavers
237 turtles
1 toad
3 frogs

Monday, September 27, 2010 Update (Cumulative)

Live in care: 251
3 Canada Geese
2 Mallard
2 Wood Ducks
4 Mute Swans
0 Trumpeter Swan
2 Great Blue Herons
3 beavers
233 turtles
1 toad

Sunday, September 26, 2010 Update (Cumulative)

Live in care: 284
3 Canada Geese
2 Mallard
2 Wood Ducks
6 Mute Swans
2 Great Blue Herons
3 beavers
264 turtles
1 toad

Saturday, September 25, 2010 Update (Cumulative)

Live in care: 321
3 Canada Geese
1 Mallard
6 Mute Swans
0 Trumpeter Swan
2 Great Blue Herons
3 beavers
315 turtles
1 toad

Friday, September 24, 2010 Update (Cumulative)

Live in Care: 306
3 Canada Geese
1 Mallard
6 Mute Swans
0 Trumpeter Swan
2 Great Blue Herons
3 beavers
315 turtles
1 toad
Total: 306

Thursday, September 23, 2010 Update (Cumulative)

Live in Care: 340

9 Canada Goose 
1 Mallard 
6 Mute Swan
1 Trumpeter Swan
2 Great Blue Heron
1 Double Crested Cormorant
3 Beavers
316 Turtles
1 Frog/toad

Wednesday, September 22, 2010 Update (Cumulative)

Live in care: 306
9 Canada Geese
1 Mallard
6 Mute Swans
1 Trumpeter Swan
2 Great Blue Herons
2 muskrats
3 beavers
281 turtles
1 toad

Tuesday, September 21, 2010 Update (Cumulative)

Live in care: 298
9 Canada Geese
1 Mallard
6 Mute Swans
1 Trumpeter Swan
2 Great Blue Herons
1 Double-crested Cormorant
2 muskrats
3 beavers
272 turtles
1 toad

Monday, September 20, 2010 Update (Cumulative)

Live in care: 298
9 Canada Geese
1 Mallard
1 Trumpeter Swan
6 Mute Swans
3 Great Blue Herons
1 Double-crested Cormorant
3 beavers
2 muskrats
271 turtles
1 toad

Sunday, September 19, 2010 Update (Cumulative)

Live in care: 296
10 Canada Geese
1 Mallard
1 Trumpeter Swan
6 Mute Swans
3 Great Blue Herons
3 beavers
2 muskrats
2 voles
269 turtles
1 frog

Saturday, September 18, 2010 Update (Cumulative)

Live in care: 324
10 Canada Geese
1 Mallard
1 Trumpeter Swan
6 Mute Swans
3 Great Blue Herons
3 beavers
2 muskrats
296 turtles
1 frog
1 snake

Friday, September 17, 2010 Update (Cumulative)

Live in care: 326
10 Canada Geese
1 Trumpeter Swan
6 Mute Swans
3 Great Blue Herons
3 beavers
2 muskrats
300 turtles
1 frog

Thursday, September 16, 2010 Update (Cumulative)

Live in care:  324
21 Canada Geese 
1 Trumpeter Swan
5 Mute Swans
3 Great Blue Herons
3 beavers
289 turtles
1 frog

Wednesday, September 15, 2010 Update (Cumulative)

Live in care:  416
21 Canada Geese 
5 Mute Swans
3 Great Blue Herons
3 beavers
1 snake
382 turtles

Tuesday, September 14, 2010 Update (Cumulative)

Live in care:  399
19 Canada Geese 
5 Mute Swans
3 Great Blue Herons
2 beavers
1 snake
368 turtles
2 mussels

Monday, September 13, 2010 Update (Cumulative)

Live in Care: 382
19 Canada Geese 
5 Mute Swans
2 Great Blue Herons
2 beavers
1 snake
332 turtles 
21 frogs
2 mussels

Sunday, September 12, 2010 Update (Cumulative)

Live in care: 269   
19 Canada Geese 
5 Mute Swans
2 Great Blue Herons
1 Rock Pigeon
1 snake
240 turtles

Saturday, September 11, 2010 Update (Cumulative)

Live in care:  294
18 Canada Geese 
2 Mute Swans
2 Great Blue Herons
1 Rock Pigeon
1 snake
270 turtles 

Friday, September 10, 2010 Update (Cumulative)

Live in care:  323
18 Canada Geese 
2 Mute Swans
2 Great Blue Herons
1 Rock Pigeon
1 snake
299 turtles 

Thursday, September 9, 2010 Update (Cumulative)

Live in care:  317
16 Canada Geese 
2 Mute Swans
2 Great Blue Herons
1 Rock Pigeon
2 snakes
294 turtles 

Wednesday, September 8, 2010Update (Cumulative)

Live in care:  279
16 Canada Geese 
2 Mute Swans
2 Great Blue Herons
1 Rock Pigeon
1 beaver
1 snake
256 turtles 

Tuesday, September 7, 2010 Update (Cumulative)

Live in care:  279 
16 Canada Geese 
2 Mute Swans
2 Great Blue Herons
1 Rock Pigeon
1 beaver
257 turtles 

Monday, September 6, 2010 Update (Cumulative)

Live in care:  302 
16 Canada Geese 
2 Mute Swans
3 Great Blue Herons
1 Rock Pigeon
1 beaver
3 meadow voles
1 opossum
274 turtles 
1 frog 

 

Sunday, September 5, 2010 Update (Cumulative)

Live in care:  268
15 Canada Geese 
2 Mute Swans
3 Great Blue Herons
1 Rock Pigeon
1 beaver
3 meadow voles
1 opossum
241 turtles 
1 frog 

Saturday, September 4, 2010 Update (Cumulative)

Live in care: 272   
12 Canada Geese 
2 Mute Swans
3 Great Blue Herons
1 Rock Pigeon
1 beaver
3 meadow voles
1 opossum
247 turtles 
2 frogs 

Friday, September 3, 2010 Update (Cumulative)

Live in care: 284  
12 Canada Geese 
2 Mute Swans
3 Great Blue Herons
1 Rock Pigeon
1 beaver
3 meadow voles
1 opossum
261 turtles  

Thursday, September 2, 2010 Update (Cumulative)

Live in care:  299
12 Canada Geese 
2 Mute Swans
4 Great Blue Herons
1 Rock Pigeon
2 beavers
3 meadow voles
1 opossum
3 snakes
271 turtles  

Wednesday, September 1, 2010 Update (Cumulative)

Live in care: 293
12 Canada Geese
2 Mute Swans
4 Great Blue Herons
1 Rock Pigeon
2 beavers
3 meadow voles
1 opossum
1 snake
267 turtles

Tuesday, August 31, 2010 Update (Cumulative)

Live in care: 279   
23 Canada Geese 
2 Mute Swans
4 Great Blue Herons
1 Rock Pigeon
2 beavers
3 meadow voles
2 opossums
1 snake
240 turtles  
1 frog 

Monday, August 30, 2010 Update (Cumulative)

Live in care:  311
23 Canada geese 
2 mute swans
4 great blue herons
1 beaver
1 opossum
1 snake
276 turtles  
3 frogs 

Sunday, August 29, 2010 Update (Cumulative)

Live in care:  255
23 Canada geese 
2 mute swans
3 great blue herons
1 beaver
1 opossum
2 snakes
221 turtles  
2 frogs 

Saturday, August 28, 2010 Update (Cumulative)

Live in Care: 241
23 Canada geese 
2 mute swans
3 great blue herons
1 beaver
1 opossum
1 snake
208 turtles  
2 frogs 

Friday, August 27, 2010 Update (Cumulative
)

Live in care: 219
23 Canada geese 
2 mute swans
3 great blue herons
1 beaver
1 opossum
1 snake
188 turtles   

Thursday, August 26, 2010 Update (Cumulative)

Live in care: 229
23 Canada geese 
2 mute swans
2 great blue herons
1 beaver
1 opossum
1 snake
198 turtles  
1 frog

Wednesday, August 25, 2010 Update (Cumulative)

Live in care: 218
34 Canada geese
2 mute swans
2 great blue herons
1 beaver
1 opossum
1 snake
174 turtles
1 toad
2 frogs

Tuesday, August 24, 2010 Update (Cumulative)

Live in Care: 252
34 Canada geese 
2 mute swans
2 great blue herons
1 beaver
1 opossum
210 turtles   
1 toad
1 frog

Monday, Aug 23, 2010 Update (Cumulative)

Live in care:  223
34 Canada geese 
2 mute swans
2 great blue herons
1 beaver
1 opossum
182 turtles   
1 toad

Saturday, Aug 21, 2010 Update (Cumulative)

Live in care:   211
25 Canada geese 
2 mute swans
2 great blue herons
176 turtles   
1 snake
1 frog

Friday, Aug 20, 2010 Update (Cumulative)

Live in Care: 211
30 Canada geese 
2 mute swans
2 great blue herons
176 turtles   
1 snake

Thursday, Aug 19, 2010 Update(Cumulative)

Live in Care: 199
29 Canada geese 
2 mute swans
2 great blue heron
165 turtles   
1 snake

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2010 Update (Cumulative)

Live in Care: 205
40 Canada geese
2 mute swans
2 great blue heron
3 muskrats
156 turtles
1 snake
1 frog

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 Update (Cumulative)

Live in care: 220
52 Canada geese
1 wood duck
2 mute swans
3 muskrats
161 turtles
1 frog

Monday, Aug 16 Update (Cumulative)

Live in Care:
52 Canada geese
1 wood duck
2 mute swans
3 muskrats
158 turtles
2 snake
1 frog
219 Total in Care

Sunday, Aug 15 Update (Cumulative)

Live in care:
66 Canada geese
1 wood duck
2 mute swans
3 muskrats
147 turtles
2 snake
221 Total in Care

Saturday, Aug 14 Update (Cumulative)

Live in Care:
80 Canada geese
4 mallards
1 wood duck
2 mute swans
3 muskrats
132 turtles
1 snake
223 Total in Care

Friday, Aug 13 Update (Cumulative)

Live in care:
75 Canada geese
4 mallards
1 wood duck
2 mute swans
3 muskrats
132 turtles
1 snake
218 Total in care

Thursday, Aug 12 Update (Cumulative)

Live in care:
69 Canada geese
4 mallards
1 wood duck
3 mute swans
6 muskrats
106 turtles
189 Total in Care

Wednesday, Aug 11 Update (Cumulative)

76 Canada geese
11 mallards
1 wood duck
3 mute swans
5 muskrats
109 turtles
205 Total in Care

Tuesday, Aug 10 Update (Cumulative)

68 Canada geese
11 mallards
1 wood duck
3 mute swans
1 red-winged blackbird
5 muskrats
83 turtles
172 Total in Care

Monday, Aug 9 Update (Cumulative)

66 Canada geese
11 mallards
1 wood duck
2 domestic geese
3 mute swans
1 red-winged blackbird
4 muskrats
83 turtles
171 Total in Care

Sunday, Aug 8 Update (Cumulative)

64
Canada Geese
3
Mute Swans
12
Mallards
1
Red-winged Blackbird
2
Domestic Geese
4
Muskrats
78
Turtles
164
Total in care

Saturday, Aug 7 Update (Cumulative)

64
Canada Geese
3
Mute Swans
10
Mallards
1
Red-winged Blackbird
2
Domestic Geese
4
Muskrats
85
Turtles
169
Total in care

Friday, Aug 6 Update (Cumulative)

66
Canada Geese
3
Mute Swans
10
Mallards
1
Red-winged Blackbird
1
Great Blue Heron
2
Domestic Geese
4
Muskrats
62
Turtles
149
Total in care

Thursday, Aug 5 Update (Cumulative)

64
Canada Geese
3
Mute Swans
10
Mallards
1
Red-winged Blackbird
1
Great Blue Heron
2
Domestic Geese
5
Muskrats
52
Turtles
138
Total in care


Wednesday, Aug 4 Update (Cumulative)

64
Canada Geese
2
Mute Swans
12
Mallards
1
Red-winged Blackbird
2
Domestic Geese
5
Muskrats
42
Turtles
2
Frogs
130
Total in care

Tuesday, Aug 3 Update (Cumulative)

58
Canada Geese
2
Mute Swans
4
Mallards
1
Red-winged Blackbird
2
Domestic Geese
6
Muskrats
28
Turtles
101
Total in care

 

Monday, Aug 2 Update (Cumulative)

49
Canada Geese
2
Swans
4
Mallards
1
Red-winged Blackbird
2
Domestic Geese
6
Muskrats
31
Turtles
95
Total in care


Sunday, Aug 1 Update (Cumulative)

47
Canada Geese
2
Swans
4
Mallards
1
songbird
2
Domestic Geese
5
Muskrats
30
Turtles
91
Total in care

Last updated: November 1, 2010

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, One Federal Drive, Fort Snelling, MN 55111-4056
612-713-5360
E-mail: MidwestNews@fws.gov