Media Tip Sheet
Midwest Region

Want to Tell a Story About Fish and Wildlife?

From the boundary waters of Minnesota to the tip of southern Illinois, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service's Midwest Region works to conserve migratory birds, endangered species, nationally significant fish resources, and manage national wildlife refuge and waterfowl production areas. The Midwest Region includes Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio and Wisconsin. Below are ideas for outdoor and environmental writers about the Service's work in the Midwest. To follow up on these topics, contact the outreach coordinator listed.

Choose a category above to view story ideas

View stories in all categories

View print friendly page

Contact Information

Assistant Regional Director: External Affairs
Charles Traxler, 612-713-5313, Charles_Traxler@fws.gov

Deputy Assistant Regional Director: External Affairs
Tim Patronski, 612-713-5108, Tim_Patronski@fws.gov

Endangered Species and Ecological Services
Georgia Parham, 812-334-4261 x 1203, Georgia_Parham@fws.gov

Fisheries, Great Lakes Restoration Initiative and Asian Carp
Katie Steiger-Meister, 612-713-5317, Katie_Steiger-Meister@fws.gov

Landscape Conservation Cooperatives
Ashley Spratt, 573-234-2132 x 104, Ashley_Spratt@fws.gov

Migratory Birds
Larry Dean, 612-713-5312, Larry_Dean@fws.gov

Refuges and Law Enforcement
Tina Shaw, 612-713-5331, Tina_Shaw@fws.gov

Wildlife and Sport Fish Restoration
Joanna Gilkeson, 612-713-5170, Joanna_Gilkeson@fws.gov

Not sure who to contact?
External Affairs, 612-713-5360, MidwestNews@fws.gov

Looking for something specific?

Try searching for a Field Notes entry

Last updated: May 9, 2014