Fish and Aquatic Conservation


Report A Species

Thank you for your efforts to report Aquatic Invasive Species sightings.  The ANS Hotline has been shut down and replaced with the online reporting tool of the USGS Nonindigenous Aquatic Species Database and its associated Alert System.

  • If you are looking to report an aquatic invasive plant or animal, please visit the USGS NAS Database Online Sighting Report Form.
  • If you are looking to receive alerts about new sightings of specific aquatic invasive species or receive alerts for a Taxonomic Group or for one or more States please register for the USGS NAS Alert System.

 

List of State Contact Information for Aquatic Invasive Species

If you were calling the ANS Hotline in an attempt to reach your State’s natural resource, conservation, wildlife, fisheries, or environmental protection offices, please click on the map below to find the aquatic invasive species contact(s) for your State.

 

divider

 

map of the US


divider

 

Alabama
Steven Rider, Alabama Department of Conservation and
Natural Resources

(334) 850-6123
Email:Steve.Rider@dcnr.alabama.gov  

 

Alaska      
Alaska Invasive Species Hotline: (877) INV-ASIV (877-468-2748)

Alaska AIS E-mail: dfg.dsf.invasivespecies@alaska.gov

 

Arizona
Kami Silverwood, Arizona Game and Fish Division
(623) 236-7608
       E-mail:  ksilverwood@azgfd.gov

 

Arkansas
Game and Fish Commission –
(800) 364‐4263 – Ask for the Fisheries Division

 

California
CA Invasive species hotline:   (866) 440-9530

CA invasive species E-mail:invasives@wildlife.ca.gov

Lake Tahoe Watercraft Inspection Hotline: 888-824-6267

 

Colorado
(Colorado Parks & Wildlife Invasive Species Program – (303) 291-7295)

 

Connecticut
Nancy Murray, CT DEP Bureau of Natural Resources
860/424 3589
E-mail: Nancy.Murray@ct.gov

 

Delaware
Division of Fish and Wildlife:  (302) 735‐8650

 

Florida
Exotic Species Reporting Hotline:  888-IVE-GOT1 (888-483-4681)

 

Georgia
Tim Bonvechio, Georgia Department of Natural Resources
(912) 285-6094    
E-mail:  tim.bonvechio@dnr.state.ga.us


BACK TO THE TOP

Hawaii
Statewide Pest Hotline:  (808) 643-PEST (7378)

Online Reporting Link: http://reportapest.org/

 

Idaho
Idaho Invasive Species Hotline:  (877) 336-8676

 

Illinois
Illinois Dept. of Natural Resources – Division of Fisheries – ANS Program
(217) 785-8772        
E-mail: dnr.ans@illinois.gov!

 

Iowa
Kim Bogenschutz, Iowa Department of Natural Resources
(515) 432-2823     
E-mail:  Kim.Bogenschutz@dnr.iowa.gov

 

Kansas
Department of Wildlife, Parks, and Tourism ANS Reporting Site
http://kdwpt.state.ks.us/Fishing/ Aquatic-Nuisance-Species/Report
-an-Aquatic-Nuisance-Species

 

Kentucky
Neal Jackson, KY Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources
(270) 759‐5295      
E-mail: Neal.jackson@ky.gov

 

Louisiana
Bobby Reed, LA Department of Wildlife Resources
(337) 488-3039  
E-mail:  breed@wlf.la.gov

 

Maine
For Freshwater Flora
John McPhedran, Maine Department of Environmental Protection
(207) 215-9863           
E-mail:  John.McPhedran@maine.gov

For Freshwater Fauna
Michael Brown, Maine Department of Inland Game and Fisheries
(207) 287-5263         
E-mail:  Michael.Brown@maine.gov

For Marine (salt water) Flora and Fauna
Robert Russell, Maine Department of Marine Resources
(207) 633-9524         
E-mail:  Robert.Russell@maine.gov

 

Maryland
Jonathan McKnight, MD Department of Natural Resources
(410) 260-8539          
E-mail:  jonathan.mcknight@maryland.gov

For Zebra Mussel Sightings in MD
Zebra Mussel Reporting Form: http://www.dnr.state.md.us/invasives/Zebra
Mussel.asp)

Zebra Mussel Reporting E-mail: invasivemussels@maryland.gov

 

Massachusetts
Mr. Jim Straub, Department of Conservation and Recreation
(617) 626-1411          
E-mail:  jim.straub@state.ma.us


BACK TO THE TOP

Michigan
Invasive Species Contact List for Michigan
http://michigan.gov/invasives/0,5664,7-324-74497---,00.html

Invasive Species Online Reporting in Michigan
http://michigan.gov/invasives/0,5664,7-324-68002---,00.html

 

Minnesota
Invasive Species Contact List for Minnesota
http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/invasives/ais/contacts.html

 

Mississippi
For Freshwater Plants and Animals
Dennis Riecke, MS Department of Wildlife, Fisheries, & Parks
(601) 432-2207 
     E-mail:  DennisR@mdwfp.state.ms.us

For Marine (salt water) Plants and Animals
Mike Pursley, MS Department of Marine Resources
(228) 523-4113         
E-mail:  Mike.Pursley@dmr.ms.gov

 

Missouri
Department of Conservation:  (573) 522-4115
Online Reporting Form:  http://mdc.mo.gov/about-us/how-contact-us/contact-form

 

Montana
Thomas Boos, Montana Fish Wildlife and Parks
(406) 444-1267          
E-mail:  TBoos@mt.gov

 

Nebraska
Allison Zach, Nebraska Invasive Species Program,
Univ. of Nebraska–Lincoln
(402) 472-3133         
E-mail:  azach3@unl.edu

Online AIS Reporting:  http://neinvasives.com/report-a-sighting/

 

Nevada
Nevada Department of Wildlife – Aquatic Invasive Species Number:
(775) 688-1314

Lake Tahoe Watercraft Inspection Hotline:  (888) 824-6267

 

New Hampshire
For Plants and Algae
Amy Smagula, New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services
(603) 271-2248         
Email:  Amy.Smagula@des.nh.gov

For Aquatic Invasive Animals
NH Fish and Game Department:  (603) 271-2501

 

New Jersey
Chris Smith, DEP, Division of Fish and Wildlife
(609) 259-6964         
E-mail:  Christopher.Smith@dep.nj.gov

 

New Mexico
Department of Game and Fish:  (888) 248-6866

 

New York
Catherine McGlynn, New York Department of Conservation
(518) 408-0436  

 

North Carolina
Toll-free number to report an invasive species:  (800) 206-9333
Or report by E-mail:  newpest@ncagr.gov

 

North Dakota
Fred Ryckman, North Dakota Game and Fish Department
(701) 770-0920         
E-mail:  fryckman@nd.gov


BACK TO THE TOP

Ohio
John Navarro, Department of Natural Resources, Division of Wildlife
(614) 265‐6346         
E-mail:  John.Navarro@dnr.state.oh.us

 

Oklahoma
Curtis Tackett, Department of Wildlife Conservation
(918) 683-1031         
E-mail:  curtis.tackett@odwc.ok.gov    

 

Oregon
Oregon Invasive Species Hotline: (866) 468-2337
Online Reporting Form:  http://www.oregoninvasiveshotline.org/reports/new

 

Pennsylvania
Online Reporting Form:  http://www.fish.state.pa.us/aisreporting.htm

 

Rhode Island
Kevin R. Cute, Coastal Resources Management Council
(401) 783-7772         
E-mail:  kcute@crmc.ri.gov
Coastal Resources Management Council:  (401) 783-3370

 

South Carolina
For Freshwater Species
Chris Page, SCDNR Aquatic Nuisance Species Program Manager
(803) 755-2836    
       E-mail: pagec@dnr.sc.gov

For Marine/Estuarine (salt water) Species
Peter Kingsley-Smith, SCDNR Marine Resources
Division Invasive Species Research
(843) 953-9840         
E-mail: kingsleysmithp@dnr.sc.gov            

For Tiger Shrimp Reporting
E-mail:  tigershrimp@dnr.sc.gov

 

South Dakota
South Dakota Game, Fish, and Parks
(605) 773-3387         
E-mail: wildinfo@state.sd.us

 

Tennessee
Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency, Fish Division:  (615) 781-6575

 

Texas
Earl Chilton, Texas Parks and Wildlife Department
(512) 389 4652         
E-mail: Earl.Chilton@tpwd.state.tx.us

 

Utah
Craig Walker, Utah Division of Wildlife Resources
(801) 834-1970
E-mail:  cwalker@utah.gov

 

Vermont
Ann Bove, VT DEC, Watershed Management Division, Lakes Section
(802) 490‐6120         
E-mail:  ann.bove@state.vt.us

 

Virginia
Kevin Heffernan, VA Department of Conservation & Recreation, Division of Natural Heritage
(804) 786-9112         
E-mail:  kevin.heffernan@dcr.virginia.gov

 

Washington
WA Invasive Species Hotline:  (888) 933-9247
WA Online Reporting Link:  wdfw.wa.gov/ais/reporting

 

West Virginia
Online Reporting Form: http://www.wvdnr.gov/fishing/AIS%20Form.pdf
Form must be saved and then e-mailed to:  ais@wv.gov
Or hard copy mailed to:
WV DNR, Wildlife Resources Section 2311 Ohio Ave
Parkersburg, WV 26101

 

Wisconsin
WI Online Invasive Species Reporting Information
http://dnr.wi.gov/topic/Invasives/report.html

 

Wyoming
WY Game and Fish Department
AIS Hotline: (877) WGFD-AIS (943-3247)         
E-mail:  ReportAIS@wyo.gov


BACK TO THE TOP

Last updated: February 2, 2016