FICMNEW Early Warning Workshop Proceedings
Proceedings Home Page

Disclaimer

Introduction

Overview and Summary

Working Group Reports:
Scientific Aspects of Early Warning

Rapid Assessment

Rapid Response

Public Outreach

Operational Framework

 

Summary of Recommendations

Next Steps

Appendices:
Pre-Workshop Concept Paper

Steering Committee

Participants

Photo Gallery

Witchweed

Workshop Participants

Workshop Facilitation Staff

Participant Index:
B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P R S T V W

Rita Beard
Rangeland Ecologist
USDA Forest Service
2150 Centre Avenue
Ft. Collins, CO  80526
Phone: (970) 295-5754
Fax: (970) 295-5755
E-mail: rbeard@fs.fed.us

George Beck
Professor
Colorado State University
116 Weed Research Lab
Colorado State University &
Ft. Collins, CO  80523
Phone: (970) 491-7568
Fax: (970) 491-2462
E-mail: gbeck@lamar.colostate.edu

Cynthia Boettner
Coordinator
Invasive Plant Control Initiative
U.S. Fish & Widllife Service
Silvio Conte National Fish and
Wildlife Refuge
38 Avenue A.
Turner Falls, MA  01376
Phone: (413) 863-0209 x 6
Fax: (413) 863-3070
E-mail: cynthia_boettner@fws.gov

Brian Bowen
Tennessee Exotic Pest Plant Council
4824 Torbay Drive
Nashville, TN  37243
Phone: (615) 532-0436
Fax: (615) 532-0231
E-mail: bbowen@mail.state.tn.us

Victoria E. Bridges
Veterinary Medical Officer
USDA Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
555 S. Howes Street
Ft. Collins, CO  80521
Phone: (970) 490-7822
Fax: (970) 490-7899
E-mail: victoria.e.bridges@usda.gov

Terry Cacek
Integrated Pest Management Coordinator
National Park Service
Biology Division
1201 Oakridge Drive
Ft. Collins, CO  80525
Phone: (970) 225-3542
Fax: (970) 225-3585
E-mail: terry_cacke@nps.gov

Mike Carroll
Board of Directors
NAWMA
P.O. Box 1190
Ft. Collins, CO  80522
Phone: (970) 498-5769
Fax: (970) 495-5780
E-mail: carrolmc@co.larimer.co.us

Eliot Christian
U.S. Geological Survey
12201 Sunrise Valley Drive
Mail Stop 802
Reston, VA  20192
Phone: (703) 648-7245
Fax: (703) 648-7112
E-mail: echristi@usgs.gov

Al Cofrancesco
Team Leader, Biological Control Team
U.S. Army Corp of Engineers
Waterway Experimental Station
3909 Halls Ferry Road
Vicksburg, MS  39186
Phone: (601) 634-3182
Fax: (601) 634-2398
E-mail: cofrana@wes.army.mil

Frannie Decker
Noxious Weed Coordinator
New Mexico Department of Agriculture
MSC APR
Box 30005
Las Cruces, NM  88005
Phone: (505) 646-8005
Fax: (505) 646-1540
E-mail: fdecker@nmda-bubba.nmsu.ed

Joshua Dein
Animal Welfare Officer
U.S. Geological Survey
6006 Schroeder Road
Madison, WI  53711
Phone: (608) 270-2450
Fax: (608) 270-2415
E-mail: joshua_dein@usgs.gov

Alicia Doran
Weed & Pest Inspector
Jefferson County Weed and Pest
700 Jefferson County Parkway, Suite 100
Golden, CO  80401
Phone: (303) 271-5989
Fax: (303) 271-5997
E-mail: adoran@co.jefferson.co.us

Bob Doren
National Park Service - Florida International University
SERC-0E148
University Park
Miami, FL  33199
Phone: (305) 348-6721
Fax: (305) 348-3095
E-mail: dorenr@fiu.edu

Jack Edmundson
Invasive Species Coordinator
USDA Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
4700 River Road, Unit 149
Riverdale, MD  20737
Phone: (301) 734-8274
Fax: (301) 734-340
E-mail: jack.p.edmundson@usda.gov

Robert Eplee
Research Agronomist
USDA Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (Retired)
121 W. Oliver Street
Whiteville, NC  28472
Phone: (910) 642-3991
Fax: (910) 642-0757
E-mail: eplee@weblnk.net

Larry Fowler
Botanist-National Staff
USDA Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
1018 Main Campus Drive, Suite 2500
Raleigh, NC  27606
Phone: (919) 513-2129
Fax: (919) 513-1995
E-mail: larry.fowler@usda.gov

Jim Grace
Research Ecologist
USGS/BRD
National Wetland Research Center
700 Cajundove Blvd.
Lafayette, LA  70506
Phone: (337) 266-8632
Fax: (337) 266-8513
E-mail: Jim_Grace@usgs.gov

Bill Gregg
Invasive Species Program Coordinator
U.S. Geological Survey - MS 301
12201 Sunrise Valley Drive
Reston, VA  20192
Phone: (703) 648-4067
Fax: (703) 648-4039
E-mail: william_gregg@usgs.gov

Pat Haragan
Associate Curator
Davies Herbarium, University of Louisville, KY
713 Greenridge Lane
Louisville, KY  40207
Phone: (502) 894-0674
Fax: (502) 852-0686
E-mail: caribpat@aol.com

Deborah Hayes
Invasive Species Coordinator
U.S. Department of Agriculture
P.O. Box 96090
Washington, DC  20090
Phone: (202) 720-5827
Fax: (202) 690-3662
E-mail: deborah.hayes@usda.gov; debhayes@fs.fed.us

Alison Hill
Ecologist
USDA Forest Service
VMPR PO Box 96090
Washington, DC  20090-6090
Phone: (202) 205-1565
Fax: (202) 205-2497
E-mail: ahill01@fs.fed.us

Mike Ielmini
National Invasive Species Coordinator
(Co-Chair, FICMNEW)
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service/FICMNEW
4401 N. Fairfax Drive
Arlington, VA
Phone: (703) 358-2340
Fax: (703) 358-1826
E-mail: michael_ielmini@fws.gov

Stanley Jones
Owner/Farmer/Rancher
Jones Ranch
Box 65
Otto, WY  82434
Phone: (307) 762-3271
Fax: no fax
E-mail: stanjones53@hotmail.com

Greg Jubinsky
Environmental Program Manager-Upland Weeds
Florida Department of Environmental Protection
3917 Commonwealth Boulevard
Tallahassee, FL  32399
Phone: (850) 487-2600
Fax: (850) 488-2216
E-mail: jubinsky_g@ngw.dep.state.fl.us

Elizabeth Kane
Public Information Director
Clemson University
511 Westinghouse Road
Pendleton, SC  29670
Phone: (864) 646-2120
Fax: (864) 646-2178
E-mail: ekane@clemson.edu

Ken Lakin
Entomologist
USDA Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
1017 Main Campus Drive, Suite 2500
Raleigh, NC  27606
Phone: (919) 513-2347
Fax: (919) 513-1995
E-mail: kenneth.r.lakin@usda.gov

Fred Lamming
Supervisor
Teton County Weed District
P.O. Box 1852
Jackson, WY  83001
Phone: (307) 733-8419
Fax: (307) 733-0983
E-mail: tcweed@rmisp.com

Eric Lane
State Weed Coordinator
Colorado Department of Agriculture
700 Kipling Street
Suite 4000
Lakewood, CO  80215
Phone: (303) 239-4182
Fax: (303) 239-4177
E-mail: eric.lane@ag.state.co.us

Rick Lewandowski
Director
Mt. Cuba Center for the Study of Piedmont Flora
P.O. Box 3570
Greenville, DE  19807-0570
Phone: (302) 239-4244
Fax: (302) 239-2156
E-mail: lewandowskifamily@erols.com

Steve Manning
President
Invasive Plant Control Inc.
P.O. Box 40987
Nashville, TN  37204
Phone: (615) 385-4319
Fax: (615) 385-4124
E-mail: steve@invasiveplantcontrol.com

Susan McCarthy
Technical Information Specialist
USDA National Agricultural Library
10301 Baltimore Avenue
Room 203
Beltsville, MD  20705-2351
Phone: (301) 504-5510
Fax: (301) 504-6892
E-mail: smccarth@nal.usda.gov

Hank McNeel
Bureau of Land Management
Billings, MT
Phone: (406) 896-5043
Fax:
E-mail: Hank_McNeel@mt.blm.gov

Leslie J. Mehrhoff
Curator
University of Connecticut
George Safford Torrey Herbarium
Box U-43
University of Connecticut
Storrs, CT  06269-3043
Phone: (860) 486-1889
Fax: (860) 486-6364
E-mail: vasculum@uconnvm.uconn.edu

Brent Meyer
President
North American Weed Management Association
Route 2
Box 501
Nelson, NE  68961
Phone: (402) 225-3931
Fax: (402) 225-3931
E-mail: nuckolls@alltel.net

Barry Meyers-Rice
Assistant Weed Specialist
The Nature Conservancy
Dept. of Veg. Crops
148 Asmundson
University of California, Davis
Davis, CA  95616
Phone: (530) 754-8891
Fax: (530) 752-4604
E-mail: bazza@ucdavis.edu

Larry Morse
North American Botanist
The Nature Conservancy
Association for Biodiversity Information
4245 N. Fairfax Drive, Suite #400
Arlington, VA  22203
Phone: (703) 841-5361
Fax: (703) 525-8024
E-mail: lmorse@tnc.org

Laurie Neville
Program Coordinator
Stanford University
Global Invasive Species Program
Department of Biological Sciences
Stanford, CA  95037
Phone: (650) 723-1530
Fax: (650) 723-9253
E-mail: lneville@leland.stanford.edu

Neil Ogg
Director
Clemson University
Regulatory and Public Service Programs
511 Westinghouse Road
Pendleton, SC  29670
Phone: (864) 646-2120
Fax: (864) 646-2178
E-mail: nogg@clemson.edu

Jim Olivarez
Regional Noxious Weed Program Leader
USDA Forest Service-Northern Region
P.O. Box 7669
200 East Broadway
Missoula, MT  59807
Phone: (406) 329-3621
Fax: (406) 329-3132
E-mail: jolivarez@fs.fed.us

Scott Peterson
Director
Natural Resources Conservation Service
National Plant Data Center
P.O. Box 74490
Baton Rouge, LA  70874
Phone: (225) 775-6280
Fax: (225) 775-8883
E-mail: speterson@npdc.usda.gov

Alex Petkov
Webmaster
INVADERS Plant Data Base
University of Montana
Division of Biological Sciences
University of Montana
Missoula, MT  59812
Phone: (406) 243-2671
Fax: (406) 243-2671
E-mail: invaders@selway.umt.edu

Tim Playford
Dow-Agro Sciences, Inc.
10521 Balroyal Court
Fishers, IN  46038
Phone: (317) 596-8930
Fax: (317) 596-8931
E-mail: tjplayford@dowagro.com

Rod Randall
R.O. Plant Profiler
Agriculture Western Australia
3 Baron-May Court
South Perth, AUSTRALIA  6151
Phone: 61-8-93683443
Fax: 61-8-94743814
E-mail: rprandall@agric.wa.gov.au

Sarah Reichard
Research Assistant Professor
University of Washington
Box 354115
Seattle, WA  98195
Phone: (206) 616-5010
Fax: (206) 685-2692
E-mail: reichard@u.washington.edu

Roy Reichenbach
Weed and Pest Program Coordinator
Wyoming Department of Agriculture
2219 Carey Avenue
Cheyenne, WY  82002-0100
Phone: (307) 777-6585
Fax: (307) 777-6593
E-mail: rreich@state.wy.us

Tom Roberts
Range Conservationist
USDI-Bureau of Land Management
1849 C Street, NW
Washington, DC  20240
Phone: (202) 452-7769
Fax: (202) 452-7709
E-mail: tom_roberts@blm.gov

Steve Schoenig
California Department of Food and Agriculture
Sacramento, CA
Phone: (916) 654-0768
Fax:
E-mail: sschoenig@cdfa.ca.gov

Bill Scott
State Weed Specialist
Kansas Department of Agriculture
Plant Protection and Weed Control
P.O. Box  19282
Topeka, KS 66619-0282
Phone: (785) 862-2180
Fax: (785) 862-0727
E-mail: bscott@kda.state.ks.us

Craig Searle
Division Director
Utah County/NAWMA
2855 S. State Street
Provo, UT  84606
Phone: (801) 370-8638
Fax:
E-mail: ucpw.craigs@state.ut.us

Mark W. Skinner
Botanist
USDA NRCS National Plant Data Center
P.O. Box 74490
Baton Rouge, LA  70802
Phone: (225) 775-6280
Fax: (225) 775-8883
E-mail: mskinner@npdc.usda.gov

Eric Smith
Program Management
USDA Forest Service
2150 Centre Avenue
Bldg. A, Suite 331
Fort Collins, CO  80526-1891
Phone: (970) 295-5841
Fax: (970) 295-5815
E-mail: elsmith@fs.fed.us

Susan Solarz
Asst. to Deputy Secretary Rominger
U.S. Department of Agriculture
8B Whitten Building
1400 Independence Avenue, SW
Washington, DC  20250
Phone: (202) 720-9233
Fax: (202) 720-3982
E-mail: susan.l.solarz@usda.gov

Ron Stinner
Director
National Science Foundation
Center for Integrated Pest Management
1017 Main Campus Drive, Suite #1100
Raleigh, NC  27606
Phone: (919) 515-1648
Fax: (919) 513-1114
E-mail: cipm@ncsu.edu

Jil Swearingen
Entomologist
National Park Service
National Capital Region
Cener for Urban Energy
4598 MacArthur Blvd., NW
Washington, DC  20007
Phone: (202) 342-1443 x 218
Fax: (202) 282-1037
E-mail: jil_swearingen@nps.gov

Alan Tasker
National Weed Program Coordinator
USDA Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
4700 River Road, Unit 134
Riverdale, MD  20905
Phone: (301) 734-5708
Fax: (301) 734-5992
E-mail: alan.v.tasker@usda.gov

David Thomas
USDA Forest Service
Washington, DC
Phone: (202) 205-0889
Fax:
E-mail: dthomas06@fs.fed.us

Kathryn Thomas
U.S. Geological Survey
Flagstaff, AZ
Phone: (520) 556-7466
Fax:
E-mail: kathryn_a_thomas@usgs.gov

Philip Thomas
Computer/Alien Spp. Specialist
USDI U.S. Geological Survey
P.O. Box 1272
Haleukala Field Station
Hawaiian Ecosystems at Risk Project
Puunene, HI  96784
Phone: (808) 572-4418
Fax:
E-mail: pt@hear.org

Susan Timmins
Scientist
Department of Conservation
Science and Research
P.O. Box 10-420
Wellington, NEW ZEALAND
Phone: 64- 4471-3234
Fax: 64-4471-3279
E-mail: stimmins@doc.govt.nz

Jennifer Vollmer
Senior Market Development Specialist
BASF, Inc.
2166 N 15th Street
Laramie, WY 82072
Phone: (307) 755-5218
Fax: (307) 755-6091
E-mail:

Gary Waggoner
NBII Biodiversity Coordinator
U.S. Geological Survey/BRD/NBII
Center for Biological Informatics
P.O. Box 25046, Mail Stop 302
Denver Federal Center
Denver, CO  80225
Phone: (303) 202-4222
Fax: (303) 202-4219
E-mail: gary_waggoner@usgs.gov

Randy Westbrooks
Invasive Plant Coordinator
U.S. Geological Survey/BRD
USGS Field Office for Invasive Species
233 Border Belt Drive
P.O. Box 279
Whiteville, NC  28472
Phone: (910) 648-6762
Fax: (910) 648-6763
E-mail: rwestbrooks@weblnk.net

Sterling White
Range Specialist
Bureau of Land Management
1735 La Plata Highway
Farmington, NM  87401
Phone: (505) 599-8900
Fax: (505) 599-8998
E-mail: swhite@blm.gov

Facilitation Staff:

Paul De Morgan
Senior Mediator
Resolve, Inc.
1255 23rd Street, NW, Suite 275
Washington, DC  20037
Phone: (202) 965-6201
Fax: (202) 338-1264
E-mail: pdemorgan@resolv.org

Jeff Citrin
Associate
Resolve, Inc.
1255 23rd Street, NW, Suite 275
Washington, DC  20037
Phone: (202) 965-6388
Fax: (202) 338-1264
E-mail: jcitrin@resolv.org

Top