Bon Secour National Wildlife Refuge
Conserving the Nature of America

Guided Nature Tours

Dunes

**Tours are free of charge and by reservation only**
Call 251-540-7720 (M-F 7am-3:30pm) to confirm your reservations

Each tour will be limited to 12 people.
Each person will be limited to 2 tours.
Please notify the office within 24 hours if you need to cancel a reservation.

Restroom facilities are available at the refuge office and Pine Beach Trail.
We encourage you to bring binoculars but they are not required to enjoy the tours.

Register now for 2010 Tours
Thank you for coming to Bon Secour

Tours identified as birdwalks are for both beginning and experienced birders.  All other tours focus on plants, ecology, history of the area, and any wildlife that you may encounter during your walk
 
Tues, January 19 7:30am Birdwalk at Jeff Friend Trail     
Wed, January 20 9:00am  Pine Beach Trail
Thurs, January 21   9:00am Dynamic Dunes Beach Tour
Tues, January 26 7:30am  Birdwalk Jeff Friend Trail
  9:00am  Dynamic Dunes Beach Tour
Wed, January 27 9:00am  Gator Lake Trail
Thurs, January 28 8:00am Birdwalk at Centennial Trail
  9:00am Pine Beach Trail
Tues, February 2 8:00am Jeff Friend Trail
  9:00am Gator Lake Trail
Thurs, February 3 9:00am  Dynamic Dunes Beach Tour  
Thurs, February 4  9:00am  Centennial Trail
  9:00am Pine Beach Trail

Tues, February 9

7:30am Birdwalk Centennial Trail
  9:00am  Pine Beach Trail
Wed, February 10 9:00am  Centennial Trail
Thurs, February 11 8:00am  Gator Lake Trail 
  9:00am  Jeff Friend Trail
Tues, February 16 8:00am  Jeff Friend Trail
  9:00am  Gator Lake Trail
Wed, February 17 7:30am Dynamic Dunes Beach Tour
Thurs, February 18 8:00am  Centennial Trail
  9:00am Pine Beach Trail
Tues, February 23 9:00am  Birdwalk at Jeff Friend Trail
  9:00am  Gator Lake Trail
Wed, February 24 9:00am Pine Beach Trail
Thurs, February 25 8:00am  Birdwalk at Centennial Trail
  9:00am Dynamic Dunes Beach Tour
Tues, March 2 8:00am Dynamic Dunes Beach Tour 
  9:00am Gator Lake Trail
Wed, March 3 7:30am Centennial Trail
Thurs, March 4 9:00am Jeff Friend Trail
  9:00am Pine Beach Trail
Tues, March 9 8:00am Centennial Trail
  9:00am Birdwalk at Gator Lake Trail
Wed, March 10 9:00am Dynamic Dunes Beach Tour
Thurs, March 11 8:00am Birdwalk at Pine Beach Trail
  9:00am Jeff Friend Trail


Tour Descriptions

Jeff Friend Trail—WHEELCHAIR ACCESSIBLE (please call for more information).  Explore the maritime forest and adjacent Little Lagoon on this recently improved trail complete with boardwalk.  Many species of plants and birds can often be seen along this trail.  Meet at Jeff Friend Trailhead. Rating: Easy to moderate. Time: 1 - 1 ½ hour.  Distance: 1 mile.

Centennial Trail—Explore the transition from maritime forest to dune swales to a swamp discovering different species of plants and wildlife. Meet at Jeff Friend Trailhead. Rating: Moderate; ground may be wet in some areas. Time: 2 hours.  Distance: 2 miles.

Gator Lake Trail—Walk along a dune ridge and see many species of birds and plants that are typical of this transitional habitat between the maritime forest and the frontal dunes.  Meet at the Gator Lake Trailhead. Rating: Moderate, sandy terrain. Time: 2 hours. Distance: 1 mile.

Dynamic Dunes Beach Tour—Walk along the shore and discover why these dunes are so important. Meet at the Mobile St. beach access parking lot. Rating: moderate, sandy terrain. Time: 1 ½ hour. Distance: 1 mile.

Pine Beach Trail— Explore the plants and wildlife of an intact dune ecosystem that includes maritime forest, scrub, and dune habitats.  This trail is unique with a saltwater lagoon on one side and a freshwater lake on the other. Many seaside plants are found here and the impact of recent hurricanes will be discussed. Meet at the Pine Beach Trailhead. Rating: moderate to strenuous, some sandy terrain. Time: 2 hours. Distance: 2 miles.

 
Last Updated: January 2010