Asheville Ecological Services Field Office
Conserving the Nature of America

 

 

 

  About the Asheville Field Office  

Address
160 Zillicoa St.
Asheville, NC 28801
828/258-3939


Hours of Operation

Normal business hours are 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday - Friday


Directions

The Asheville Field Office is located off Interstate 26 at exit 25.

If you're traveling west on Interstate 26 then turn right at the bottom of the exit. If you are traveling east on Interstate 26, then turn left at the bottom of the exit.

At the first stoplight, turn right onto Zillicoa Street.

Take the first left into the USDA Forest Service/U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service parking lot.

Upon entering the front door, turn right and our office is around the corner.

test

Janet Mizzi

 

 

Field Supervisor

 

828/258-3939, ext. 223
janet_mizzi@fws.gov


Mara Alexander

 

 

Botanist; endangered species listing and recovery; imperiled plant and lichen conservation

 

 

828/258-3939, ext. 238
mara_alexander@fws.gov

 

Marella Buncick

 

 

Review of North Carolina Department of Transportation projects

 

828/258-3939, ext. 237
marella_buncick@fws.gov

 

David Caldwell

 

STEP intern, receptionist, special projects

 

  828/258-3939, ext. 286
david_caldwell@fws.gov

Bob Butler

 

 

Aquatic endangered species listing and recovery; imperiled aquatic species conservation in the Tennessee and Ohio River basins

 

 

828/258-3939, ext. 235
bob_butler@fws.gov

 

Sue Cameron

 

 

Terrestrial species listing and recovery; state coordinator of the Endangered Species Act state grant program

 

 

828/258-3939, ext. 224
susan_cameron@fws.gov

 

Mark Cantrell

 

 

Review of Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, Tennessee Valley Authority, and Natural Resources Conservation Service projects; Endangered species habitat conservation planning

 

828/258-3939, ext. 227
mark_a_cantrell@fws.gov

 

Gwendolyn Casebeer

 

STEP intern, receptionist, special projects

 

  828/258-3939, ext. 286
gwendolyn_casebeer@fws.gov

Nancy Cole

 

 

Word processing; editing and proofreading; time and attendance processing; property management; records management

 

 

828/258-3939, ext. 232
nancy_cole@fws.gov

 

Mark Endries

  Geographic information analyst  

828/258-3939, ext. 231
mark_endries@fws.gov

 

John Fridell

 

 

Invertebrate and aquatic vertebrate endangered species listing and recovery; federal project review of federal projects impacting aquatic resources; Southeast Region Aquatic Team

 

 

828/258-3939, ext. 225
john_fridell@fws.gov

 

Anita Goetz

 

 

Habitat restoration and conservation on private lands; administrator of the Partners for Fish and Wildlife program in Western North Carolina and North Georgia

 

 

828/258-3939, ext. 228
anita_goetz@fws.gov

 

Byron Hamstead

 

  STEP intern, receptionist, special projects   828/258-3939, ext. 221
byron_hamstead@fws.gov

Jason Mays

 

 

Review of North Carolina Department of Transportation projects

 

 

828/258-3939, ext. 226
jason_mays@fws.gov

 

Gary Peeples

 

 

Education and outreach specialist; primary contact for media and Congressional inquiries

 

 

828/258-3939, ext. 234
gary_peeples@fws.gov

 

Allen Ratzlaff

 

Endangered Species listing and recovery; review of USDA Forest Service, National Park Service, Bureau of Indian Affairs, Environmental Protection Agency, Federal Communications Commission and Housing and Urban Development projects

 

 

828/258-3939, ext. 229
allen_ratzlaff@fws.gov

 

Laura Rogers

 

Budget administration; contracting and personnel officer

 

  828/258-3939, ext. 222
laura_rogers@fws.gov

Bryan Tompkins

 

 

Federal project review under the Endangered Species Act, Clean Water Act, Fish and Wildlife Coordination Act, and Migratory Bird Treaty Act; mitigation bank review

 

 

828/258-3939, ext. 240
bryan_tompkins@fws.gov

 

Photo montage of biologists looking at mussels, someone gazing over the mountains through binoculars, and a high elevation rocky outcrop. Photo credits: U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service

 

 

test

 

Last Updated: November 9, 2011