Asheville Ecological Services Field Office
Conserving the Nature of America

 

 

 

 

Bog Learning Network

To help advance the stewardship and management of Southern Appalachian bogs, the Bog Learning Network serves to:

  • *Provide a forum for sharing information and experinces about bog management and conservation
  • *Identify bog managers' key information and resource needs and ways to meet those needs

test

 

 

Steering committee members

Marshall Ellis
N.C. Division of Parks and Recreation
marshall.ellis@ncparks.gov

Gabrielle Graeter
N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission
gabrielle.graeter@ncwildlife.org

Gabby Lynch
The Nature Conservancy - Tennessee
glynch@tnc.org

Mincy Moffett
Georgia Department of Natural Resources
Mincy.Moffett@dnr.state.ga.us

Gary Peeples
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service (co-chair)
gary_peeples@fws.gov

Ed Schwartzman
N.C. Natural Heritage Program
edward.schwartzman@ncdenr.gov

Adam Warwick
The Nature Conservancy - North Carolina (co-chair)
awarwick@tnc.org

Jeff Wilcox
UNC-Asheville
jwilcox@unca.edu


Meeting information

May 29-30 - Bog Manager's Meeting - Chatooga Ranger District, Lakemont, Georgia

 

January 8-9, 2014 - Full Group Meeitng - University of North Carolina at Asheville, Asheville, North Carolina

 

April 25, 2013 - Bog Manager's Meeting - Kanuga Conference Center, Flat Rock, North Carolina

 

January 16-17, 2013 - Full Group Meeting - Bent Creek Experimental Forest, Asheville, North Carolina

 

black line spacer

Resources

Monitoring

Tier 1 monitoring forms

 

Information about the proposed Mountain Bogs National Wildlife Refuge

 

Photographs

test

 

 

 

test

 

Last Updated: November 14, 2012